11. International Conference on

Soft Methods in Probability and Statistics

September 3-6, 2024, in Salzburg (Austria)

Registration for the conference is now open: Early bird rates are valid until May 31, 2024.

Information and reduced prices for accommodation can be found here.

Plenary Speakers

  • Siegfried Hörmann (Graz University of Technology, AT)
  • Susanne Saminger-Platz (Johannes Kepler University Linz, AT)
  • Steven Vanduffel (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, BE)
  • Ingrid Van Keilegom (KU Leuven, BE)
  • Christian Wagner (University of Nottingham, UK)

Invited Sessions

  • Adaptive Computing and Decision making (organizer: Simon Hirländer, Salzburg, AT)
  • Classification and clustering with copulas (organizer: Fabrizio Durante, Lecce, IT)
  • Dependence uncertainty (organizer: Alfred Müller, Siegen, DE)
  • Latest trends in clustering and classification methods (organizer: Marta Nai Ruscone, Genova, IT)
  • Machine learning and decision making under weakly structured information (organizers: Thomas Augustin, Christoph Jansen, Georg Schollmeyer, München, DE)
  • Optimal transport for statistics and machine learning (organizer: Johannes Wiesel, Pittsburgh, US)
  • Probability theory without probability measures (organizer: Pedro Terán, Oviedo, ES)
  • Random sets and fuzzy random variables (organizer: Pedro Terán, Oviedo, ES)
  • Robust statistical methods (organizer: Beatriz Sinova Fernández, Oviedo, ES)
  • Robustness for dependent data (organizer: Una Radojicic, Wien, AT)
  • Theoretical and applied aspects of imprecise probabilities (organizers: Enrique Miranda, Oviedo, ES; Arthur Van Camp, Eindhoven, NL)

Topics (incomplete list)

  • Classification
  • Clustering
  • Decision Theory
  • Dependence Modeling
  • Functional Data Analysis
  • Fuzzy Sets
  • Imprecise / Generalized Probabilities
  • Industrial Applications
  • Machine Learning
  • Optimal Transport
  • Random Sets
  • Reliability
  • Robust Statistics
  • Soft Computing 
  • Statistics with imprecise Data
  • Times Series
  • T-Norms


  • General Chairs: Jonathan Ansari, Sebastian Fuchs, Wolfgang Trutschnig
  • SMPS Core Group: M.A. Gil, P. Grzegorzewski, O. Hryniewicz, M. A. Lubiano Gomez